Urge Minnesota lawmakers to support job opportunities for people with disabilities

Your action is needed to preserve funding for employment services for adults with disabilities. Jobs conference committee members from the Minnesota House and Senate are meeting this week to determine what legislation should be passed on to Governor Dayton. Please let them know that employment services for individuals with disabilities is a critical need.

Vocational Rehabilitation Services (VRS) empowers Minnesotans with disabilities to find and keep jobs by providing employment services such as job counseling, job search assistance, training and job placement.

Please take a moment to contact legislators on the conference committee and ask them to include an additional $3.5 million in funding for Vocational Rehabilitation Services (VRS) in the final jobs bill agreement.


Sen. Jeremy Miller (28, R)
651-296-5649
sen.jeremy.miller@senate.mn


Sen. Paul T. Anderson (44, R)

651-296-9261
email form


Sen. Gary H. Dahms (16, R)

651-296-8138
sen.gary.dahms@senate.mn


Sen. Bobby Joe Champion (59, DFL)

651-296-9246
email form


Sen. David J. Osmek (33, R)

651-296-1282
sen.david.osmek@senate.mn

Rep. Pat Garofalo (58B, R)
651-296-1069 or 888-667-3337
rep.pat.garofalo@house.mn


Rep. Jim Newberger (15B, R)
651-296-2451 or 800-706-9962
rep.jim.newberger@house.mn


Rep. Joe Hoppe (47B, R)

651-296-5066
rep.joe.hoppe@house.mn


Rep. Marion O'Neill (29B, R)
651-296-5063 or 800-920-5875
rep.marion.oneill@house.mn


Rep. Tim Mahoney (67A, DFL)

651-296-4277
rep.tim.mahoney@house.mn


Talking points:

  • VRS empowers people with disabilities to find and keep jobs.
  • We need all Minnesotans working in order to meet employer demands in a looming labor shortage. VRS is one of our most effective strategies to increase competitive employment for individuals with disabilities.
  • Without additional funding from the state, Minnesota will be required to close the last remaining employment service category for adults with disabilities. If that happens, we won’t be able to serve any new applicants.
  • Please include an addition $3.5 million in funding for VRS in the final jobs bill agreement. This investment is absolutely critical at this time.